Save, grow, or throw box
How long a goal takes at a real Guyanese savings rate, what steady contributions grow to, and whether your box hand beats the bank.
Your numbers
Bank savings in Guyana pay about 0.35% to 1%; see the table below.
The goal grows with prices. The Georgetown consumer price index by default.
Putting aside G$50,000 a month at 1.0% reaches G$1,000,000 in 1 year 10 months. Prices rising 3.6% a year means your savings lose 2.5% a year in buying power.
- Time to goal
- 22 months
- Real rate after inflation
- -2.5%
Where to keep your savings
Published savings, fixed deposit and Treasury bill rates, highest first. The real rate takes off 3.6% inflation (the Georgetown consumer price index).
| Institution | Product | Rate | Real rate | Minimum | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Building Society | Save & Prosper Accountone month notice to withdraw | 2.75% | -0.8% | G$250,000 | as of 24 Sep 2026 · nbsgy.comchecked on the source |
| New Building Society | Five Dollar Shares Account | 1.5% | -2.0% | G$10,000 | as of 24 Sep 2026 · nbsgy.comchecked on the source |
| New Building Society | Deposit Account | 1.4% | -2.1% | G$10,000 | as of 24 Sep 2026 · nbsgy.comchecked on the source |
| Bank of Baroda (Guyana) | Fixed deposit 181 days and above181 to 364 days, and 1 year and above | 1.25% | -2.3% | G$100,000 | as of 11 Feb 2013 · bankofbaroda.gyreported |
| Demerara Bank | Term Deposit 3 / 6 / 12 months3 to 12 months | 1.25% | -2.3% | G$100,000 | as of 24 Sep 2026 · demerarabank.comchecked on the source |
| Republic Bank (Guyana) | Certificate of Deposit 36 months36 months | 1.2% | -2.3% | G$100,000 | as of 24 Sep 2026 · republicguyana.comchecked on the source |
| Republic Bank (Guyana) | Certificate of Deposit 24 months24 months | 1.1% | -2.4% | G$100,000 | as of 24 Sep 2026 · republicguyana.comchecked on the source |
| Bank of Guyana | 91-day Treasury bill91 days | 1.1% | -2.4% | G$50,000 | as of 7 Sep 2026 · bankofguyana.org.gychecked on the source |
| Bank of Guyana | Average 12-month time deposit rate (commercial banks)12 months | 1.03% | -2.5% | not stated | as of 31 Jul 2026 · bankofguyana.org.gychecked on the source |
| Bank of Baroda (Guyana) | Savings Bank account | 1.0% | -2.5% | not stated | as of 11 Feb 2013 · bankofbaroda.gychecked on the source |
| Republic Bank (Guyana) | RightStart (under 19) | 1.0% | -2.5% | G$1,000 | as of 24 Sep 2026 · republicguyana.comchecked on the source |
| Bank of Baroda (Guyana) | Short deposit 91 to 180 days91 to 180 days | 1.0% | -2.5% | G$100,000 | as of 11 Feb 2013 · bankofbaroda.gychecked on the source |
| Republic Bank (Guyana) | Certificate of Deposit 12 months12 months | 1.0% | -2.5% | G$100,000 | as of 24 Sep 2026 · republicguyana.comchecked on the source |
| Bank of Guyana | 364-day Treasury bill364 days | 1.0% | -2.5% | G$50,000 | as of 14 Sep 2026 · bankofguyana.org.gychecked on the source |
| Bank of Guyana | 182-day Treasury bill182 days | 0.99% | -2.5% | G$50,000 | as of 31 Jul 2026 · bankofguyana.org.gychecked on the source |
| Citizens Bank Guyana | Certificate of Deposit 90 / 180 / 365 days90 to 365 days | 0.95% | -2.6% | G$50,000 | as of 24 Sep 2026 · citizensbankgy.comchecked on the source |
| Bank of Guyana | Average 6-month time deposit rate (commercial banks)6 months | 0.94% | -2.6% | not stated | as of 31 Jul 2026 · bankofguyana.org.gychecked on the source |
| GBTI | Fixed Deposit 3 / 6 / 12 months3 to 12 months | 0.85% | -2.7% | not stated | as of 24 Sep 2026 · gbtibank.comreported |
| Republic Bank (Guyana) | Certificate of Deposit 6 months6 months | 0.85% | -2.7% | G$100,000 | as of 24 Sep 2026 · republicguyana.comchecked on the source |
| Bank of Guyana | Small savings rate (average of commercial banks) | 0.81% | -2.7% | not stated | as of 31 Jul 2026 · bankofguyana.org.gychecked on the source |
| Bank of Guyana | Average 3-month time deposit rate (commercial banks)3 months | 0.78% | -2.7% | not stated | as of 31 Jul 2026 · bankofguyana.org.gychecked on the source |
| Citizens Bank Guyana | Jackpot Savings | 0.6% | -2.9% | G$3,000 | as of 24 Sep 2026 · citizensbankgy.comchecked on the source |
| Republic Bank (Guyana) | Certificate of Deposit 3 months3 months | 0.55% | -2.9% | G$100,000 | as of 24 Sep 2026 · republicguyana.comchecked on the source |
| GBTI | Statement Savings | 0.5% | -3.0% | G$5,000 | as of 24 Sep 2026 · gbtibank.comreported |
| Republic Bank (Guyana) | Optimizer savings | 0.5% | -3.0% | G$100,000 | as of 24 Sep 2026 · republicguyana.comchecked on the source |
| Republic Bank (Guyana) | Savings Plus | 0.5% | -3.0% | G$50,000 | as of 24 Sep 2026 · republicguyana.comchecked on the source |
| Republic Bank (Guyana) | TimeSaver savings | 0.5% | -3.0% | G$5,000 | as of 24 Sep 2026 · republicguyana.comchecked on the source |
| Demerara Bank | Statement Savings | 0.35% | -3.1% | G$2,000 | as of 24 Sep 2026 · demerarabank.comchecked on the source |
| GPSCCU | Ordinary Savings (compulsory share savings) | not published | G$5,000 | as of 24 Sep 2026 · mygpsccu.comunconfirmed |