True Cost

Rates last reviewed 24 Sep 2026

The house price you can afford

Put in your salary and the cash you have. The calculator gives the highest price a bank would lend on, the mortgage and its monthly payment, and the closing costs, on the lending rules banks here commonly use.

Your numbers

Before PAYE and NIS. Add a partner's pay if you are buying together.

First-home rates start at 3.5%; see the table below.

Debt service ratio. 40% is a common guideline; no bank publishes its own.

Loan to value. 90% means a 10% contribution.

On G$400,000 a month with G$2,000,000 saved, the most you can pay for a house is about G$13,650,000. That is a mortgage of G$12,288,485 at G$71,837 a month, plus about G$634,613 in closing costs.

House price up to about
G$13,653,873
Mortgage
G$12,288,485
Monthly payment
G$71,837
Closing costs
G$634,613
What sets the limit
the bank's deposit rule
Monthly payment your pay allows
G$160,000

Closing costs, line by line

  • Stamp duty on the transport (2% of value)G$273,077
  • Deeds Registry general fee (0.5% of value)G$68,269
  • Attorney fees for the transfer (about 1.75% of price)G$238,943
  • Mortgage registration duty (0.12% of loan)G$14,746
  • Mortgage registration fee (0.2% of loan)G$24,577
  • Bank application and processing fees (typical)G$15,000

Mortgage rates in Guyana

Published mortgage rates, with the date each was checked and its source.

Where the calculator's starting values come from: No Guyanese bank publishes its debt service ratio; 40% of gross pay is a common lending guideline, and Bank of Baroda states total deductions may not exceed 60% of gross salary. 90% loan-to-value reflects the 5% to 10% contribution most banks ask (Republic 5%, Baroda 10%). 5% is the New Building Society regular mortgage rate up to $30M; first-home tiers at Republic, GBTI, Demerara and Citizens start at 3.5%.

InstitutionProductRateTermSource
Bank of Baroda (Guyana)Housing loan, low income group (CH&PA scheme)Family income up to G$100,000/month; max loan G$2M; margin 10%; rate capped at NBS rate; salaried loan max 50x monthly gross salary; total deductions max 60% of gross salary; processing 1% max G$20,000; foreclosure 0.5% per residual year max 3%6.8%max 25 yearsas of 1 Jan 2020 · bankofbaroda.gychecked on the source
Bank of Baroda (Guyana)Normal housing loanRate card (since 1 January 2020): up to G$5M 8.50%, G$5M to 10M 10.00%, above G$10M 12.00%; the product page says 6.00% to 8.00%, maximum G$200M, contribution 10% to 25%. Prime lending rate 10.00%.8.5%6.0% to 12.0%max 25 yearsas of 1 Jan 2020 · bankofbaroda.gyreported
Citizens Bank GuyanaMortgage tiersUp to $10M 3.5% (low income); up to $20M 3.7%; up to $30M 4.6%; up to $50M 5.0%; over $50M negotiable; up to 100% construction financing; 'No commitment or processing fees' (promo; fee schedule still lists them); low-income and residential pages: 10 to 20% contribution, max 30 years3.5%3.5% to 5.0%up to 35 yearsas of 24 Sep 2026 · citizensbankgy.comchecked on the source
Demerara BankResidential Home Loan tiersUp to G$4M 3.5%; G$4,000,001 to 9M 3.7%; 9,000,001 to 15M 4.5%; 15,000,001 to 40M 5%; above 40M 8%. Contribution 10% (low-income and young professional units), 15% (construction, renovation), 20% (purchase). Current promo: 50% off attorney fees, processing and site-inspection fees waived3.5%3.5% to 8.0%not statedas of 24 Sep 2026 · demerarabank.comchecked on the source
GBTIResidential mortgage, standard rate tiers (effective 1 May 2026)Up to $4M 3.5%; $4M to 9M 3.7%; $9M to 20M 4.25%; $20M to 40M 4.75%; $40M to 60M 4.99%; above $60M 5.25% to 6.5% negotiable. GBTI Advantage relationship pricing: 3%, 3.2%, 3.75%, 4.25%, 4.49%, 4.75%. Low-income housing 'as low as 3% up to $30M'; contribution 5 to 10% (low income, young professional) or 10% (residential)3.5%3.5% to 6.5%up to 30 years (illustration)as of 1 May 2026 · gbtibank.comchecked on the source
GPSCCUMortgageSite: up to $15,000,000, rate 'determined based on the size of the loan ... by seeing a loan officer'. The 2021 annual report announced 3.5% to 7% with no down payment required; the current range is not published.3.5% to 7.0%not statedas of 11 Apr 2021 · mygpsccu.comreported
Hand-in-Hand Trust CorporationDomestic mortgage (as reported to Bank of Guyana)Reported to the Bank of Guyana (Statistical Abstract, July 2026, Table 4.1): domestic mortgages 10.00%, commercial 13.00%, average deposit rate 1.51%, unchanged from 2020 to 2026. The company's own residential mortgage page also lists 10%, and 6.1% for low-income mortgages up to G$8,000,000 (up to 90% financing, 15 years maximum). Processing fee $5,000; vehicle loans up to 80% new or 50% to 70% used, maximum 4 years; equity loans up to 7 years.10.0%not statedas of 31 Jul 2026 · bankofguyana.org.gychecked on the source
New Building SocietyRegular mortgage'Regular mortgage rate of 5% a year for loans up to G$30 million', a 5% ceiling set in May 2025 when the limit rose from $20M; interest daily on the reducing balance; variable under the deed; application, credit report and legal fees not priced. Smaller loans can cost less: NBS's notice of rates effective 1 September 2022, still on its website, lists 3.50% up to $4M and 3.75% from $4M to $9M, and NBS said in May 2025 that its other mortgage rates start at 3.50%. The Bank of Guyana puts NBS's average mortgage rate at 4.38% in 2026.5.0%3.5% to 5.0%max 30 years concrete/brick, 15 years greenheartas of 24 Sep 2026 · nbsgy.comreported
Republic Bank (Guyana)2026 residential mortgage offer (up to G$60M)Since February 2026 Republic has offered residential mortgages up to $60M at 5%, with no borrowing ceiling; a $20M to $40M mortgage moved from another bank gets 4.7% with no negotiation or attorney fees. Its 2026 mortgage campaign also advertises 3.5% up to $9M and 4.25% over $9M to $20M, the rates of its Low Cost Mortgage package for first-time home owners. Up to 100% financing; up to 40 years or age 70; special conditions apply. The older Easy Home Loan page still shows 6% to 7% by loan-to-value, an application fee of $4,500 (up to $5M) or $6,000 and a negotiation fee of 0.5%. The rate above $60M is not published.5.0%3.5% to 5.0%up to 40 years or age 70as of 24 Sep 2026 · makeithappenloan.comreported
Republic Bank (Guyana)Easy Home Loan (standard residential mortgage)6% at LTV/LTC up to 75%; 6.5% above 75 to 85%; 7% above 85%; equity 5%; application fee $4,500 (up to $5M) or $6,000; negotiation fee 0.5% (min $7,000, max $40,000 up to $8M; max $155,000 over $8M)6.0%6.0% to 7.0%up to 40 years or age 70as of 24 Sep 2026 · republicguyana.comchecked on the source
Republic Bank (Guyana)Low Cost Mortgage (first-time home owners up to G$30M)3.50% up to $9M; 4.25% over $9M to $20M; 5% over $20M to $30M; no splitting; equity 5% (land counts); no income ceiling; application fee $4,500, negotiation fee $5,000; no takeovers or refinancing; interest-only moratorium up to 1 year during construction3.5%3.5% to 5.0%minimum 20-year amortisation, repaid before age 65as of 24 Sep 2026 · republicguyana.comchecked on the source
Republic Bank (Guyana)Set for Life home equity loanTotal facilities incl. mortgage not above 80% of market value; no equity; fee 0.5% (min $6,000, max $20,000 up to $8M; max $155,000 over $8M)7.5%minimum 10 yearsas of 24 Sep 2026 · republicguyana.comchecked on the source
Trust Company (Guyana)MortgageNot published: the site offers 'secured mortgage lending services' with no rate, term or fee. Shown against the Bank of Guyana's average lending rate of 7.70%.not publishednot statedas of 24 Sep 2026 · trustcompanygy.comunconfirmed

Tax relief and taxes around the purchase

  • Mortgage Interest Relief: a first-time home owner who lives in the home, with total mortgage principal never above $30,000,000 and a loan approved on or after 1 January 2020, can claim back the income tax on the interest paid each year. It is an annual refund from GRA, not a monthly PAYE reduction, and only one co-owner may claim. gra.gov.gy
  • Capital gains tax of 20% falls on the seller's net gain. It is not charged when the proceeds from selling a private residence buy another private residence of equal or greater value in the same year or within 60 days after that year ends, on property held more than 25 years, or when the year's net gain is $500,000 or less. gra.gov.gy
  • Property tax for individuals was abolished from year of income 2025: the Fiscal Enactments (Amendment) Act 2026 exempts individuals from the Property Tax Act from the year of income beginning 1 January 2025. officialegazette.gov.gy